Now Reading
Top 50: The Most Anticipated Films of 2020

Top 50: The Most Anticipated Films of 2020

Avatar

From Birds of Prey and Black Widow to Christopher Nolan, Steven Spielberg and Edgar Wright’s new projects, here are 50 of the most anticipated films of 2020, divided by month.



Published: November 2, 2019. Last updated: January 1, 2020

Who are we kidding? 2019 was the year of Joker and Once Upon a Time In…Hollywood: it will be a tough year to beat. So far, the current year had something for everyone: Toy Story 4 brought back every Pixar fan’s inner child, Avengers: Endgame marked the end of a chapter in MCU history and The Dead Don’t Die gave Jarmusch entusiasts yet another delightfully absurd indie film to watch on repeat over and over again. 2019 has given us hilarious comedies Late Night and Blinded By The Light, visually stunning sci-fi thrillers of the likes of Ad Astra and I Am Mother and thought-provoking dramas such as The Farewell, Fighting With My Family and Luce. It has also been a great year for documentaries, and Virtual Reality surprised us in more than one way.

Yes, 2019 will be a hard year to follow, but 2020 isn’t looking all that bad. Christoper Nolan, Steven Spielberg, Denis Villeneuve, Hayao Miyazaki, Steven Soderbergh, Edgar Wright, Woody Allen, Sofia Coppola, Paolo Sorrentino, Guy Richie, George Clooney and the Russo Brothers all have upcoming releases. Viggo Mortensen‘s first feature-film as a director will come out, and so will Top Gun: Maverick, No Time to Die, Birds of Prey and Wonder Woman: 1984. The MCU will give us two new adventures and so will Pixar and Walt Disney Studios. A Ghostbusters sequel is coming, Bill & Ted are about to “face the music” once more and we finally have a date for X-Men adventure The New Mutants. And, if you’re a rom-com fan, rejoice: Legally Blonde 3 is happening, and Netflix has annouced a sequel to To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before.

Here are our picks of upcoming highly anticipated films, divided by month.


DOLITTLE

JANUARY 2020

Director: Stephen Gaghan
Cast: Robert Downey Jr., Michael Sheen, Tom Holland, Marion Cotillard, Antonio Banderas, John Cena, Selena Gomez

Dolittle: Official Trailer (Universal)

We like it because:
Hugh Lofting’s beloved fantasy novel is being turned into a movie, and the leading character will be played by none other than our favourite Marvel hero. Robert Downey Jr. is joined by a stellar cast that includes Michael Sheen, Antonio Banderas, Rami Malek, Tom Holland, Octavia Spencer, Ralph Fiennes, John Cena, Selena Gomez and Marion Cotillard, in one of the most anticipated live action films of the year.



THE GENTLEMEN

JANUARY 2020

Director: Guy Ritchie
Cast: Matthew McConaughey, Charlie Hunnam, Henry Golding, Michelle Dockery, Jeremy Strong, Eddie Marsan, Colin Farrell, Hugh Grant

The Gentlemen: Official Trailer (STXFilms)

We like it because:
Guy Ritchie’s live action remake of Disney’s Aladdin might not be one of his best films to date, but The Gentlemen could turn out to be the hit we’ve been waiting for. Not only does the Sherlock Holmes director bring us a sophisticated action comedy about an intriguing character, but he does it with an all-star cast! The Gentlemen stars Matthew McConaughey, Colin Farrell, Charlie Hunnam, Hugh Grant, Henry Golding, Michelle Dockery, Jeremy Strong and Eddie Marsan, and we are hoping to find the same acting and screenplay quality of Ritchie’s early work (Snatch, Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels).



FALLING

JANUARY 2020

Director: Viggo Mortensen
Cast: Viggo Mortensen, Laura Linney, Hannah Gross, David Cronenberg,

Loud and Clear Reviews Most Anticipated Films of 2020 Viggo Mortensen Falling January
Lance Henriksen and Viggo Mortensen in Falling (Baral Waley Productions)

We like it because:
Viggo Mortensen made his first film! Not only is the Eastern Promises actor one of the most talented artists of our time, but he has a knack for choosing roles that allow him to showcase all his abilities while exploring complex dynamics with extreme delicacy. He inspired us in Hidalgo, he moved us in Green Book, he made us so very emotional in Captain Fantastic and we simply can’t wait to find out what his very first film as a director will be like. So far, we know that it’s about a father who moves to Los Angeles to live with his gay son’s family, and that David Cronenberg (yes, that David Cronenberg) is also in the cast.



GOOD MORNING, MIDNIGHT

JANUARY 2020

Director: George Clooney
Cast: George Clooney, Felicity Jones, David Oyelowo, Kyle Chandle

We like it because:
George Clooney returns to directing after feature films Suburbicon and The Monuments Men and TV show Catch-22: this time, the Oscar-winning actor brings us the story of a scientist who is alone in the Arctic and trying to return to Earth by making conctact with a spacecraft.



CHERRY

JANUARY 2020

Director: Anthony and Joe Russo
Cast: Tom Holland

We like it because:
The Russo brothers are back, with a new drama starring Tom Holland as an Iraq war veteran suffering from post-traumatic stress disorder, who resorts to robbing banks to pay off a debt. Adapted to the screen from Nico Walker’s novel with the same name, Cherry is based on Walker’s own life and has all the premises to be a success.



LOUIS WAIN

JANUARY 2020

Director: Will Sharpe
Cast: Benedict Cumberbatch, Claire Foy, Andrea Riserborogh, Stacy Martin

Loud and Clear Reviews Most Anticipated Films of 2020 Benedict Cumberbatch Claire Foy Louis Wain January
Benedict Cumberbatch and Claire Foy in Louis Wain (Studiocanal)

We like it because:
It’s been an intense year for Benedict Cumberbatch, who has taken part in six very diverse projects this year (including Good Omens, where he voiced the Devil himself!) and is currently working on nine more movies that are going to be released within the next two years. One of those movies is Will Sharpe’s upcoming biographical drama about Louis Wain, a prolific 19th century illustrator who suffered from schizophrenia.



ON THE ROCKS

JANUARY 2020

Director: Sofia Coppola
Cast: Bill Murray, Jessica Henwick, Rashida Jones, Jenny Slate

Loud and Clear Reviews Most Anticipated Films of 2020 Sofia Coppola Bill Murray On the Rocks January
Bill Murray and Sofia Coppola at the Marrakech International Film Festival in 2015 (Dominique Charriau/Wireimage)

We like it because:
Three years after The Beguiled, Sofia Coppola is back with an intriguing comedy drama about a young mother who goes on an adventure with her playboy father, played by the legendary Mr Bill Murray himself. We will certainly be keeping an eye out for On The Rocks!



LET THEM ALL TALK

JANUARY 2020

Director: Steven Soderbergh
Cast: Meryl Streep, Gemma Chan, Lucas Hedges

Loud and Clear Reviews Most Anticipated Films of 2020 Let them all talk Meryl Streep Steven Soderbergh January
Steven Soderbergh and Meryl Streep attend the 76th Venice Film Festival (La Biennale di Venezia/ASAC)

We like it because:
We absolutely loved Soderbergh’s Panama papers drama The Laundromat, and we absolutely can’t wait to see what he has in store for us in his new comedy drama. We don’t know much about Let Them All Talk yet, but we do know that it stars Meryl Streep and Lucas Hedges (Boy Erased, Lady Bird) and that it is about an author who goes on a trip with her friends and nephew. Which is definitely more than enough.



THE KING’S MAN

FEBRUARY 2020

Director: Matthew Vaughn
Cast: Ralph Fiennes, Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Matthew Goode, Gemma Arterton, Stanley Tucci

The King’s Man: Official Trailer (20th Century Fox)

We like it because:
Kingsman lovers, rejoice: The King’s Man is coming, and it’s the prequel you’ve been waiting for. Starring Ralph Fiennes, Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Matthew Goode, Stanley Tucci and Gemma Arterton, Matthew Vaughn’s new action drama will show us our hero as he deals with history’s worst criminal masterminds, in a race against time that promises to be just as good as the previous two.



BIRDS OF PREY (And the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn)

FEBRUARY 2020

Director: Cathy Yan
Cast: Margot Robbie, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Ewan McGregor

Birds of Prey: Trailer (Kinocheck International)

We like it because:
We have been anticipating Margot Robbie‘s return as Harley Quinn for four long years, and, judging by the trailer, it was absolutely worth it. Birds of Prey follows Joker‘s ex-girlfriend as she joins Black Canary, Huntress and Renee Montoya on a rescue mission. We absolutely can’t wait.



TO ALL THE BOYS: P.S. I STILL LOVE YOU

FEBRUARY 2020

Director: Michael Fimognari
Cast: Lana Condor , Noah Centineo, Ross Butler, Holland Taylor

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before: Trailer (Netflix)

We like it because:
If, like us, you liked heartwarming rom-com To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, we have good news for you: there are going to be two more movies about our favourite awkward teenage girl. P.S. I Still Love You will be on Netflix on February 12th, and we are already counting the days.



ONWARD

MARCH 2020

Director: Dan Scanlon
Cast: Tom Holland, Chris Pratt, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Octavia Spencer

Onward: Official Trailer (Pixar)

We like it because:
The trailer for Pixar’s Onward was released many months ago, and everyone’s already talking about it. This beautiful story about two teenagers on a journey to discover if magic still exists couldn’t be more Pixar, and Chris Pratt and Tom Holland have already won our hearts as Ian and Barley Lightfoot.



RADIOACTIVE

MARCH 2020

Director: Marjane Satrapi
Cast: Rosamund Pike, Sam Riley

Radioactive: Official Trailer (Studiocanal)

We like it because:
Radioactive is the story of how Marie Curie (Rosamund Pike) and fellow scientist/husband Pierre Curie (Sam Riley) discovered radioactivity. The first reviews from TIFF have been positive, and we can’t wait to find out more about this important story. The US release is being handled by Amazin Studios, while Studiocanal has already set a date (March 20th) for its UK and international release.



A QUIET PLACE PART II

MARCH 2020

Director: John Krasinski
Cast: Cillian Murphy, Emily Blunt, Djimon Hounsou

A Quiet Place Part II: Trailer (Paramount Pictures)

We like it because:
If you liked John Krasinski’s 2018 horror film A Quiet Place, get ready for the sequel! Also starring Emily Blunt and Cillian Murphy, A Quiet Place 2 follows the Abbott family (Emily Blunt, Millicent Simmonds, Noah Jupe) as they continue their fight for survival in silence while facing the terrors of the outside world. The film will be released on March 20th, and we can’t wait.



GODZILLA VS KONG

MARCH 2020

Director: Michael Dougherty
Cast: Kyle Chandler, Ken Watanabe Vera Farmiga, Sally Hawkins, Millie Bobby Brown

We like it because:
The fourth chapter of the Godzilla saga is about to be released! The first two sequels, Kong: Skull Island (2017) and Godzilla: King of the Monsters (2019), divided viewers and critics alike, so the expectations are high for the much-anticipated Godzilla vs Kong.



MULAN

MARCH 2020

Director: Niki Caro
Cast: Donnie Yen, Yifei Liu, Jet Li

Mulan: Official Trailer (Disney)

We like it because:
Disney’s latest live-action trend has made a lot of people talk. The Studio that gave us Aladdin and Maleficent: Mistress of Evil has already announced the upcoming release of over fifteen live-action remakes in the next few years, and Mulan is being awaited for with a mixture of anticipation and fear. We are hoping for a remake that will do the beloved original classic justice.



PROMISING YOUNG WOMAN

APRIL 2020

Director: Emerald Fennell
Cast: Carey Mulligan, Bo Burnham, Laverne Cox

Promising Young Woman: Trailer (Focus Features)

We like it because:
The trailer has only been out for a few weeks, and Promising Young Woman is already one of the most talked-about movies of 2020. Quirky enough to entertain and meaningful enough to make audiences think, the Killing Eve writer’s first feature-length film seems to have it all, including a role that seems to be absolutely perfect for Carey Mulligan.



NO TIME TO DIE

APRIL 2020

Director: Cary Joji Fukunaga
Cast: Daniel Craig, Rami Malek, Ben Whishaw, Ana de Armas, Billy Magnussen, Christoph Waltz, Ralph Fiennes, Naomie Harris, Rory Kinnear

No Time to Die: Trailer (MGM)

We like it because:
The official Global James Bond Day happened on October 5th and many were expecting a trailer for the much anticipated new chapter of the 007 franchise, No Time To Die. While this didn’t happen, what we did get was the poster above, which confirms the release date in April. No only will No Time To Die give us the chance to see Daniel Craig, Ralph Fiennes, Ben Whishaw and our favourite 007 characters back in action, but it will introduce a new villain, played by the exceptional Rami Malek. Judging by the latest films in the franchise, we’re in for a treat.



THE SECRET GARDEN

APRIL 2020

Director: Marc Munden
Cast: Colin Firth, Maeve Dermody, Julie Walters, Dixie Egerickx

The Secret Garden: Official Trailer (KinoCheck International)

We like it because:
Love Type D‘s Maeve Dermody stars alongside Colin Firth, Julie Walters and Dixie Egerickx in Marc Munden’s remake of Frances Hodgson Burnett’s bestselling novel. The movie has been produced by the team behing Harry Potter and adapted for the screen by Jack Thorne, who also worked on Stephen Chbosky’s Wonder in 2017: we can’t wait to visit the beloved garden once more.



THE NEW MUTANTS

APRIL 2020

Director: Josh Boone
Cast: Anya Taylor-Joy, Maisie Williams, Antonio Banderas, Charlie Heaton

The New Mutants: Official Trailer (20th Century Fox)

We like it because:
Mutants are all the rage these days, and, though Dark Phoenix wasn’t all we expected it to be, The New Mutants might just be the X-Men movie we’ve been waiting for. And it has been a long wait indeed, since the first trailer for Josh Boone’s film dropped nearly four years ago. The release date has finally been set for April, and we can’t wait to find out more about Professor Xavier’s school’s first graduates.



THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW

MAY 2020

Director: Joe Wright
Cast: Amy Adams, Gary Oldman, Julianne Moore, Anthony Mackie

Trailer for The Woman in the Window (20th Century Fox)

We like it because:
Amy Adams (Nocturnal Animals, Arrival) and Julianne Moore (After the Wedding, Still Alice) excel at portraying complex female characters in intense psychological dramas, and we can’t wait to see them in action with the legendary Gary Oldman in the Darkest Hour director’s latest crime drama. The Woman in the Window is about an agoraphobic woman who lives alone in New York and happens to witness a disturbing act of violence while she is spying on her new neighbors. We are intrigued.



BLACK WIDOW

MAY 2020

Director: Cate Shortland
Cast: Scarlett Johansson, Florence Pugh, Robert Downey Jr., David Harbour, Rachel Weisz
Country: U.S.A.

Black Widow: Trailer (Marvel Entertainment)

We like it because:
Scarlett Johansson has been working really hard this past year. After the impressive, highly emotional roles she played in Noah Baumbach’s Marriage Story and Taika Waititi’s Jojo Rabbit, it’s finally time for the Black Widow origin story we have been anticipating for years. After Avengers: Endgame, this story couldn’t be more needed.



GREYHOUND

MAY 2020

Director: Aaron Schneider
Cast: Tom Hanks, Elisabeth Shue, Stephen Graham

We like it because:
We are going to see a lot of Tom Hanks in 2020. The Forrest Gump actor’s first upcoming project is Greyhound, the story of a World War II commander brought to us by the director of Two Soldiers and Get Low. The story is based on C. S. Forester’s acclaimed novel The Good Shepherd, and the screenplay has been written by Tom Hanks himself. We’re curious to say the least.



UNTITLED SAW PROJECT

MAY 2020

Director: Darren Lynn Bousman
Cast: Chris Rock, Samuel L. Jackson, Marisol Nichols

We like it because:
We don’t know anything about Saw 9, not even the title. But what we do know is that it was Chris Rock who first pitched the idea, that Samuel L. Jackson is in it and that the film was described as “a reimagining and a spinning-off of the franchise.” Which is more than enough to get us excited about this release.



FAST & FURIOUS 9

MAY 2020

Director: Justin Lin
Cast: Vin Diesel, Charlize Theron, Nathalie Emmanuel, Helen Mirren

Loud and Clear Reviews Fast and Furious Vin Diesel May
Vin Diesel in Fast & Furious 8 (Universal)

We like it because:
It’s the new Fast & Furious movie! What else?



ARTEMIS FOWL

MAY 2020

Director: Kenneth Branagh
Cast: Judi Dench, Josh Gad, Hong Chau

Artemis Fowl: Official Trailer (Walt Disney Studios)

We like it because:
Kenneth Branagh has been working on an exciting project, and I’m not just talking about his adaptation of another beloved Agatha Christie novel. Based on Eoin Colfer’s bestselling book, Artemis Fowl has had a complicated history since it was first announced by Disney in 2015. The project is finally ready to be released, and we can’t wait to see it.



TOP GUN: MAVERICK

JUNE 2020

Director: Joseph Kosinski
Cast: Tom Cruise, Jennifer Connelly, Jon Hamm

San Diego Comic Con: Tom Cruise surprises Hall H with Top Gun: Maverick Trailer (Paramount Pictures)

We like it because:
It’s been 34 years since we first met Maverick and Iceman, and we didn’t think a sequel could be in the cards until Top Gun: Maverick was announced last year. Though the plot is still unknown, we absolutely can’t wait for this walk down memory lane.



WONDER WOMAN: 1984

JUNE 2020

Director: Patty Jenkins
Cast: Gal Gadot, Chris Pine

Loud and Clear Reviews Most Anticipated Films of 2020 Wonder Woman 1984 Gal Gadot June
Gal Gadot in Wonder Woman 1984 (Warner Bros)

We like it because:
Back in 2017, Wonder Woman was one of the superhero movies that surprised us the most. Its compelling heroine, its well-devised storyline and Gal Gadot’s excellent performance made it a film we will remember for a long time, and we can’t wait to find out what will happen in the sequel.



SOUL

JUNE 2020

Directors: Pete Docter, Kemp Powers
Cast: Jamie Foxx, Tina Fey

Loud and Clear Reviews Disney Pixar Soul June
Poster for Soul (Disney/Pixar)

We like it because:
Pixar has two films set for release in 2020, each one more exciting than the other. Soul is about a musician who has lost his passion for music. When he is accidentally transported out of his body, he must find his way back thanks to the help of an infant soul.



CANDYMAN

JUNE 2020

Director: Nia Da Costa
Cast: Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, Tony Todd, Colman Domingo

We like it because:
In 1992, an intriguing and absolutely terrifying horror film called Candyman was released. Twenty-eight years later, the remake is in the making. Will it be as good as the original movie? We don’t know, but we’ll certainly be watching.



IN THE HEIGHTS

JUNE 2020

Director: Jon M. Chu
Cast: Stephanie Beatriz, Jimmy Smits, Lin-Manuel Miranda

Loud and Clear Reviews In the heights Lin-Manuel Miranda June

We like it because:
This one is for the Broadway fans! The director of Crazy Rich Asians has adapted the popular Broadway musical to the screen, and Lin-Manuel Miranda is in it! The film will be about a bodega owner who inherits his grandmother’s fortune but doesn’t want to closing his store and retire.



STATEN ISLAND

JUNE 2020

Director: Judd Apatow
Cast: Marisa Tomei, Steve Buscemi

We like it because:
The director of The 40 Year-Old Virgin and Knocked Up brings us a new comedy-drama, and this time it stars Marisa Tomei and Steve Buscemi. The film is about Pete Davidson’s childhood in Staten Island and is inspired by actual events.



TENET

JULY 2020

Director: Christopher Nolan
Cast: Robert Pattinson, Michael Caine, Kenneth Branagh, Elizabeth Debicki, Aaron Taylor-Johnson, John David Washington, Clémence Poésy

See Also

Trailer for Tenet (Warner Bros)

We like it because:
It’s been two long years since Dunkirk, and you know what that means: it’s time for a new Christopher Nolan film! Not much has been revealed about its plot yet, but we do know that it will involve time travel and international espionage.



GHOSTBUSTERS: AFTERLIFE

JULY 2020

Director: Jason Reitman
Cast: Sigourney Weaver, Bill Murray, Dan Aykroyd , Paul Rudd , Finn Wolfhard, Annie Potts

Ghostbusters: Afterlife Trailer (Sony Pictures Entertainment)

We like it because:
…Remember the original Ghostbuster, with Bill Murray, Dan Aykroyd, Sigourney Weaver and Annie Potts? In 2020, a new Ghostbusters film is coming out, and this time it stars… Bill Murray, Dan Aykroyd, Sigourney Weaver and Annie Potts! The original cast members are joined by Stranger Things‘ Finn Wolfhard , Paul Rudd and Mckenna Grace in a sequel that could be either really good or really bad. Our fingers are crossed.



JUNGLE CRUISE

JULY 2020

Director: Jaume Collet-Serra
Cast: Dwayne Johnson, Emily Blunt, Edgar Ramirez, Jack Whitehall, with Jesse Plemons, Paul Giamatti

Official Trailer for Jungle Cruise (Walt Disney Studios)

We like it because:
After the success of the Pirates of the Caribbean saga, Disney made a new movie inspired by a Disneyland theme park ride! The ride is Jungle Cruise, and, judging by the trailer, the film will be a action-packed adventure indeed! We can’t wait to embark on an exciting journey with riverboat captain Dwayne Johnson and explorer Emily Blunt.



BILL & TED FACE THE MUSIC

AUGUST 2020

Director: Dean Parisot
Cast: Keanu Reeves, Samara Weaving, Anthony Carrigan

Loud and Clear Reviews Most Anticipated Films of 2020 Keanu Reeves Bill Ted Face Music August
Keanu Reeves and Alex Winter in Bill & Ted Face the Music (Hammertsone Studios)

We like it because:
Bill & Ted are all grown-up in the much anticipated sequel of Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure. Thirty-one years after the original, Keanu Reeves and Alex Winter certainly do look a little different, but that’s another reason to look forward to the movie’s release! And our favourite “rockers” might have become middle-aged dads, but their aim is still the same – fulfilling their destiny to become musical legends.



LAST NIGHT IN SOHO

SEPTEMBER 2020

Director: Edgar Wright
Cast: Matt Smith, Thomasin McKenzie

Loud and Clear Reviews Most Anticipated Films of 2020 Edgar wright last night in soho August
Thomasin McKenzie in Last Night in Soho (Film 4)

We like it because:
It’s Edgar Wright (Shaun of the Dead, Baby Driver)’s new film! So far we know that it’s a psychological horror, it’s set in Soho and it stars Thomasin McKenzie and Matt Smith. Can we please fast-forward to September and see it already?



THE WITCHES

OCTOBER 2020

Director: Robert Zemeckis
Cast: Anne Hathaway, Stanley Tucci, Octavia Spencer, Chris Rock

We like it because:
The director of Back to the Future brings us an adaptation of Roald Dahl’s beloved fantasy novel with the same name. Starring Anne Hathaway, Octavia Spencer, Chris Rock and Stanley Tucci, The Witches tells the story of a seven year old boy who has to deal with scary, child-hating witches.



BIOS

OCTOBER 2020

Director: Miguel Sapochnik
Cast: Tom Hanks, Skeet Ulrich, Caleb Landry Jones

We like it because:
Miguel Sapochnik (Game of Thrones)’s second feature-length film in ten years is a dystopian drama set on a post-apocalyptic earth. Starring the legendary Tom Hanks, Bios is about a robot who learns what it means to be human.



HALLOWEEN KILLS

OCTOBER 2020

Director: David Gordon Green
Cast: Jamie Lee Curtis, Anthony Michael Hall, Judy Greer

Halloween Kills: Promo (Universal)

We like it because:
Just as the promo says, “The saga of Michael Myers and Laurie Strode isn’t over”! It’s time for another chapter of the Halloween saga, and there couldn’t have been a more appropriate month for its release.



DEATH ON THE NILE

OCTOBER 2020

Director: Kenneth Branagh
Cast: Gal Gadot, Armie Hammer, Rose Leslie, Annette Bening, Sophie Okonedo, Russel Brand, Letitia Wright

Loud and Clear Reviews Kenneth Branagh Death On the Nile October
Kenneth Branagh in Murder on the Orient Express (Twentieth Century Fox)

We like it because:
Kenneth Branagh is on a roll! Just like Murder on the Orient Express, his new drama is the adaptation of a beloved Agatha Christie novel that follows Hercule Poirot on an adventure and features a stellar cast. Its predecessor was met with mixed reviews, but we’re hoping the Much Ado About Nothing director learned something from the past.



ETERNALS

NOVEMBER 2020

Director: Chloé Zhao
Cast: Angelina Jolie, Richard Madden, Kit Harington , Salma Hayek

Loud and Clear Reviews Most Anticipated Films of 2020 Marvel MCU Eternals cast
Angelina Jolie, Richard Madden, Dong-seok Ma, Brian Tyree Henry, Kumail Nanjiani, Lauren Ridloff, and Lia McHugh in Eternals (Marvel Studios)

We like it because:
Another epic saga is about to be brought into the Marvel Cinematic Universe, and it’s The Eternals. Featuring Angelina Jolie, Richard Madden and a stellar cast, it’s the story of a race of immortal beings who shaped history when they lived on Earth.



TIMMY FAILURE

NOVEMBER 2020

Director: Tom McCarthy
Cast: Matt Lewis, Nico Bustamante, Chloe Coleman, Ophelia Lovibond, Craig Robinson, Kyle Bornheimer

Loud and Clear Reviews Disney Timmy Failure

We like it because:
The director of Spotlight brings us a film that couldn’t be more different from his previous success, but that looks very promising. Disney‘s Timmy Failure is about an 11-year old boy who runs a detective agency called Total Failures. His best friend is an imaginary 1,200 pound polar bear, and we can’t wait to “meet” him.



STILLWATER

NOVEMBER 2020

Director: Tom McCarthy
Cast: Abigail Breslin, Matt Damon

We like it because:
Timmy Failure isn’t Tom McCarthy’s only project for 2020: Stillwater doesn’t have anything to do with Billy Crudup‘s band in Almost Famous, but the story looks very promising all the same. The film is about a father from Oklahoma (Matt Damon) who goes to Marseille to visit his estranged daughter (Abigail Breslin), who also happens to be in prison.



WEST SIDE STORY

DECEMBER 2020

Director: Steven Spielberg
Cast: Ansel Elgort, Kyle Allen, Rita Moreno, Rachel Zegler, Ariana DeBose, David Alvarez

Loud and Clear Reviews Most Anticipated Films of 2020 Steven Spielberg West Side Story
Steven Spielberg with the cast of West Side Story (Amblin Entertainment/Niko Tavernise)

We like it because:
Steven Spielberg’s new Indiana Jones movie is coming out in 2021, but the Jurassic Park director has another surprise in store for us, which comes in the form of something he has never done before – a musical. His adaptation of the 1957 musical has just wrapped production, and Spielberg shared a moving message on Amblin’s Twitter page in which he described it as “a joyful, stunningly moving, endlessly surprising encounter with the story and score of one of the world’s greatest musicals”. We absoultely can’t wait to see it.



DUNE

DECEMBER 2020

Director: Denis Villeneuve
Cast: Jason Momoa, Dave Bautista, Timothée Chalamet , Zendaya, Oscar Isaac, Stellan Skarsgård, Javier Bardem, Rebecca Ferguson, Josh Brolin

Loud and Clear Reviews Most Anticipated Films of 2020 Dune Denis Villeneuve Jason Momoa clapperboard
Clapperboard for Dune (Greig Fraser/Legendary Entertainment)

We like it because:
After Arrival and Blade Runner 2049, Denis Villeneuve is back with another sci-fi thriller! This time it’s the adaptation of Frank Herbert’s novel about the son of a noble family who needs to protect the galaxy’s most valuable asset. And, if the story hasn’t convinced you enough, Dune‘s stellar cast will: it stars Timothée Chalamet, Jason Momoa, Dave Bautista, Zendaya, Oscar Isaac, Stellan Skarsgård, Javier Bardem, Rebecca Ferguson and Josh Brolin.



THE CROODS 2

DECEMBER 2020

Director: Joel Crawford
Cast: Emma Stone, Ryan Reynolds, Kat Dennings, Peter Dinklage, Nicolas Cage

Loud and Clear Reviews Most Anticipated Films of 2020 The Croods 2 Dreamworks
The Croods 2 (Dreamworks)

We like it because:
Dreamworks’ beloved prehistoric family is back, and this time it has do deal with the Bettermans, a rival family who claims to be more evolved.



RIFKIN’S FESTIVAL

2020

Director: Woody Allen
Cast: Christoph Waltz, Gina Gershon, Wallace Shawn

Loud and Clear Reviews  Woody Allen
Woody Allen (Getty Images)

We like it because:
We don’t know when it will be released, and we don’t even have one single detail about its plot yet. But who are we kidding? It’s Woody Allen, and we’ll be the first in line.



HOW DO YOU LIVE?
(Kimitachi wa dô ikiru ka)

2020

Director: Hayao Miyazaki

Loud and Clear Reviews How do you live miyazaki studio ghibli
Cover of Genzaburo Yoshino’s 1973 novel

We like it because:
Hayao Miyazaki has our complete trust, and we can’t wait to find out more about his upcoming Studio Ghibli release. What we know so far is that it’s the adaptation of Genzaburo Yoshino’s 1973 novel, and that it will be a coming-of-age tale about a teenage boy who lives with his uncle.


MOB GIRL

2020

Director: Paolo Sorrentino
Cast: Jennifer Lawrence

We like it because:
Paolo Sorrentino’s The New Pope will be released in 2020, but the director of Youth and This Must Be The Place has another surprise in store for us. Mob Girl is the story of a mother from New York (Jennifer Lawrence) who becomes a mafia informant for the FBI. We’ll be watching.

Copyright © Loud And Clear All Right Reserved.

Scroll To Top